Provoking Thought

scales

I know it will come as a great surprise when I say that the church is wrestling through some big issues (so what else is new?). The Christian blogosphere is alive and crackling with a variety of viewpoints on all these issues, and I have had the privilege of reading many excellent blogs and thought-provoking articles. As I read, I find myself recognizing that some of my deeply held beliefs might better be termed assumptions, since I don’t know their Scriptural and logical backing. Alternately, I might think I know, but in fact I’m missing a huge facet of the matter by shutting out all other voices.

I can’t maintain my intellectual integrity if I refuse to examine all sides of an issue. This might mean an uncomfortable process of letting go of some assumptions. It might mean I research and study and never come to a conclusive opinion. It might mean I gain a greater awareness of truth’s facets. It will certainly mean I will become more knowledgeable, better read, and better able to give answers for the hope that I have. Therefore, for 2014 my goal is this: to read one thought-provoking book (or equivalent), digest it, and write something about it for this blog each month. That written portion may be a book review, some scattered thoughts, or something entirely different, but writing out my thoughts will force me to articulate and absorb information more thoroughly.

Why am I writing about this? Because I would like to open dialogue with you. Yes, you, whoever you are. And because it’s only fair that I warn you—for my friends reading this, you’re probably going to hear a lot about the book of the month, and my thoughts on it. And I want you to talk to me about it, and them. Even more so, I want recommendations on current issues and/or resources to investigate. I will say that right now I’m really interested in gender issues in the church, so solid resources there might be a good place to start.

As a final note, admitting I don’t know and don’t understand is scary, because what if I wind up switching my viewpoint to something less socially acceptable? What if I wind up believing something I currently think is wrong? But I want to approach this prayerfully, humbly, and wisely. I know that as I seek God and His truth He will be faithful to give me wisdom. My intention is not to become “so open-minded my brains fall out,” but rather to investigate all sides of difficult topics to find the truth. Whatever the truth of a matter may be, it is strong enough to withstand my questions—so I’m going to question away.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment